Skip to main content

TPP and CSC Leadership Change

By Linda Costine

The CMI is excited to announce that Dr. Scott Laster and Dr. Anthony Blikslager will be stepping into the leadership of the TPP as Associate Directors.

Dr. Anthony Blikslager is a Professor of Surgery and Gastroenterology.  He has a BS and DVM from Virginia Tech.  He did his residency and earned a PhD, here at NC State and is a Diplomate with the American College of Veterinary Surgeons and a Fellow with the American Gastroenterology Association. Dr. Scott Laster is a Professor of Microbiology and Immunology and recently served as the Associate Head of the Department of Biological Sciences.  He has a BS from University of Maine, MS and PhD from Florida State University. We are very enthusiastic about the opportunity for growth that the combined leadership from these two highly accomplished colleagues will bring to direct the TPP.

We are also very pleased to announce that Dr. Eleanor Hawkins has agreed to become the Director of the Clinical Studies Core (CSC). Dr. Hawkins brings tremendous energy and experience to this key position for the CMI and we look forward to working with her in ensuring the CSC continues to thrive under her leadership. Dr. Hawkins is currently a Professor of Internal Medicine and has been a member of the NC State faculty since July 1991. She has a DVM from The Ohio State University, College of Veterinary Medicine and is board-certified by the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine (Small Animal Internal Medicine).  Dr. Hawkins has been a member of the CMI/CCMTR since its beginning in 2006 and we are very excited that she will be transitioning into overseeing this very vital operation of the CMI.